The Pregame is Done, Now What Did I Learn?

A couple of weeks ago, I signed up for a Do-It-Yourself Web 2.0 Online eCourse through Powerful Learning Practice and after posting my last reflection today earned my first PLPeep badge that I added to the sidebar of my blog.

If you are a new to web 2.0 and want to get comfortable using these tools yourself before introducing them to your students, sign up for this class.  You won’t be disappointed and you will begin to move your practice into the 21st century.

Here are a few of my new discoveries:

  • I actually know more about web 2.0 tools than I previously thought and am already incorporating many of these things into my current practice
  • After working through the various plays I understand the importance of connected learning, blogging, wikis, RSS, social bookmarking, video sharing, personal learning networks, and Twitter, and am now able to share my newfound knowledge with other newbies like myself
  • It takes time to become comfortable with these tools; however, once you do they can add immensely to your growth as an educator
  • Do-It-Yourself  eCourses are an excellent way to learn because you can invest as much, or as little time as you want, and you can move at your own pace.
  • Time + Effort = New Discoveries.  Well worth the investment!

Now that the pregame is done I have found another great self-directed resource, The Connected Learner Starter Kit, to enhance my knowledge of web 2.0 tools and will continue to use my blog to reflect my new discoveries.  Check it out, you too might find it useful!

About Barb English

I am a curious soul and lifelong learner who is currently employed as a teacher in a Special Education classroom with the Calgary Board of Education.
This entry was posted in Connected Educator Month, The Learning Project and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

