Play #8 – Delicious or Diigo – Which Social Bookmarking Site Do You Use?

Play #8 – Do you know what tags are? Can you get to your favorite bookmarked websites stored on your home computer when you are at school?

I use iGoogle as my home page and have always like the way I can save my favourite bookmarks and access them from any computer that I am working on. Despite having access to this function, I started to encounter problems with my google bookmark list when the volume of bookmarks I wanted to save started to escalate.

Fortunately, I discovered the social bookmarking site, Delicious, and now my life has become more organized.  Moreover, I have been able to tap into a wealth of resources that other people have tagged and shared. I do love this tool, but I don’t think I am maximizing its features fully.

Perhaps someone out there can help answer a few questions for me:

1.  Should I be using Diigo or Delicious?  I started using Delicious first and tend to favour it; however, I now find other people who are using Diigo.  Currently, I am flipping back and forth between the two sites and this does not seem to be very efficient.  Is there a way to sync the two sites or is that really necessary?

2. Is there an optimum number of tags that you should give each site?

3. I have begun to realize that tagging needs to be intentional.  In the heat of the moment it is easy to slap a tag on something and move on.  However, if you are not thinking about how to organize this information as you go, you will end up with just a jumble of sites without any real order.  For those of you working in education, do you have a list of tags that you refer to when organizing your work.  A common tagging language seems like a necessary thing to have.

I know that I will eventually find the answers to my questions through further research and trial and error; however, if anyone has any useful advice or insights I would love to hear from you.

Keep on sharing!

About Barb English

I am a curious soul and lifelong learner who is currently employed as a teacher in a Special Education classroom with the Calgary Board of Education.
This entry was posted in Connected Educator Month, The Learning Project and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

