Play #7 – Lights, Camera, Action

Play #7 – Learning about online video sharing.

I tried making videos 18 years ago when oldest daughter was born, but they were so boring my brother-in-law, who later went on to have a career as a film producer, said he would boycott any future family screenings.  I lost my confidence at that point and packed the video camera away until my girls were old enough to make their own movies.  I even shied away from digital cameras as well and left the photo documentation of our lives to other family members.

I was happily living in my video/camera free bubble until the advent of Facebook and Youtube, when I soon realized that my camera shy tendencies were beginning to be a real detriment.  We live in a very media rich world.  Kids love sharing their learning through photos or video because it is a very creative medium to work with. Moreover, digital and media literacy are important 21st century skills that students need to be exposed to.  How can I be one of those teachers who flips their classroom if I can’t create engaging videos for my students?

Thankfully, after working through play #7, I have discovered TeacherTube and Youtube for teachers, two sites where  people with real talents for creating video are sharing them willingly with others. Until I find the confidence to develop my own abilities as a videographer, I can still incorporate quality videos into my lessons.

I have a feeling that my students will always have the upper hand when it comes to this medium, but I am willing to learn alongside them as we discover how to express our learning through film.

About Barb English

I am a curious soul and lifelong learner who is currently employed as a teacher in a Special Education classroom with the Calgary Board of Education.
This entry was posted in Connected Educator Month, The Learning Project and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

