What I Learned From a Makeup Lesson

For Christmas this year I received a gift certificate for a makeup lesson that covered make up basics, going from day to night, a colour palate that goes with my skin tone, proper brush care, and proper application techniques.  The catch?  All of these things were taught to me by my 14 year old daughter who has become incredibly knowledgeable about cosmetics and other fashion trends by following various blogs and researching products from websites.  Truthfully, I find makeup departments totally intimidating , so I was very excited to be presented with such a wonderful gift.

After consulting her Bobbie Brown Makeup Manual, we headed to Sephora where my daughter chatted with the clerks about products she thought would best suit my skin tone and then to Shopper’s Drug Mart where the mascara and lipstick were a better price.  Once at home, she began with a lesson on brush care and then proceeded to instruct me on how to apply foundation, concealer, eye brow powder, mascara, and lipstick.  Knowing that I prefer a more natural look, she kept my routine to 5 simple steps that I could complete in less than 10 minutes.  Clearly, my daughter was the expert on makeup application and I was grateful that she was willing to share her expertise and knowledge with me.

My daughter is a strong student and generally enjoys school; however, she is much more interested and excited about the hobbies and activities that she pursues at home on her own time, than some of the topics she is required to explore in school.   Is this the case for most young people?  The last thing that I want is for my students to be “putting in time” in my classroom, only to rush home at the end of the day to pursue what they are really passionate about.

Not only did my daughter give me some great makeup tips, but she opened my eyes and mind to a few other things:

  • sometimes kids are the experts in the classroom and teachers need to put aside their egos and be willing to learn from their students.
  • learning has to involve real-world problems and be meaningful for the students
  • when you can tap into a student’s interests and passions she will be more motivated to invest time in her learning
  • kids are curious about things and ask great questions
  • kids can be critical thinkers and critical consumers of information
  • kids are not afraid to ask for help or seek advice from outside experts
  • learning is an active pursuit that involves a lot of experimentation and trial and error

Thanks Tori, for a invaluable Christmas present!

About Barb English

I am a curious soul and lifelong learner who is currently employed as a teacher in a Special Education classroom with the Calgary Board of Education.
This entry was posted in Quotes & Reflections and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

