My Attempt to Learn Prezi

In my last post I shared a prezi that we created for EDUC 404.  Thomas, my very tech savy colleague, designed the presentation so I thought that I should take a stab at learning how to use this cloud based presentation software.  I thought it would be a great tool to use for a workshop that I am presenting at the WestCAST conference in two weeks.  After spending 4 frustrating hours navigating my way through prezi yesterday, I finally started to get the hang of things.  Nonetheless, I think that it will take more time then I have available to produce a presentation that I would be willing to share at the workshop.  Therefore, I have decided to use powerpoint for now and revisit prezi when I have more to play with it.

I have heard students say that they enjoy using prezi because it has fun zooming features and you can embed pictures or videos, but unfortunately I have not had a chance to see any examples of student work.  I am curious to see what students are doing with it.  Prezi is a very visual tool and I expect would be great for students with strong spatial relations.

About Barb English

I am a curious soul and lifelong learner who is currently employed as a teacher in a Special Education classroom with the Calgary Board of Education.
This entry was posted in The Learning Project and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Attempt to Learn Prezi

  1. Tim Rueb says:

    I’ve just started using Prezi as well. i quickly learned that I have to think of presentations in 3D rather then in a linear fashion to take advantage of the zoom in to canvas mode that allows me to move in and out of the point well expressing the symbolism of the zoom as well.

    Post your presentation when it’s done.

  2. Hello https://barbenglish.wordpress.com/2012/02/08/my-attempt-to-learn-prezi/ webmaster. I discovered your “My Attempt to Learn Prezi | Barb's Blogfolio” page via Google but it was difficult to find as you were not on the first page of search results. I see you could have more traffic because there are not many comments on your website yet. I have found a website which offers to dramatically increase your rankings and traffic to your site: http://www.linklegends.com/free-trial. They managed to get close to 1000 visitors/day using their services, you could also get lot more targeted traffic from search engines than you have now. I used their services and got significantly more visitors to my website. Hope this helps 🙂 Take care. Lindsey

Leave a Reply

