Welcome to My Blogfolio!

This term I am enrolled in EDUC 408 – Professional Development and Lifelong Learning.  One of our assignments is to create a digital portfolio to share with our classmates at the end of the term.  Over the past 6 months, I have been reading a lot about the importance of teachers developing an online identity and professional learning community where they can connect with other educators and share their learning with a wider audience.  With this in mind, I began to reflect on how I could use my digital portfolio to “put myself out there” in the virtual world and to begin developing a network of educators who can support me as I develop my identity as a teacher.

One of the requirements of the portfolio is to document a lifelong learning inquiry or exploration.  As I contemplated what to do for my inquiry I was reminded of a blogpost I had read in the Fall by Dean Shareski, a professor at the University of Regina.  He challenged his students to choose a skill, concept or idea that they knew little about, document their learning, consider all the ways in which they learn, and assess how much they learned in the end.  Drawing on this example, I decided to develop my own learning inquiry around technology – how will I use technology in the classroom, what tools and resources are out there, who can I turn to for support and assistance?  I have a lot to learn, so I commit to spending 100 hours to developing my technology skills.  As I learn new things I will add them to my “New Discoveries” page so that I can keep track of the tools that I have reviewed.

Task 1: Create a blog and begin posting entries.  My journey has begun…

About Barb English

I am a curious soul and lifelong learner who is currently employed as a teacher in a Special Education classroom with the Calgary Board of Education.
This entry was posted in The Learning Project and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Welcome to My Blogfolio!

  1. Barb Howard says:

    Good luck on your blog journey, Barb. I’ll be following!

Leave a Reply

